Morgan Kelly Blog Tour

A big welcome to Morgan Kelley, who is guest-blogging today.  I had a look at the extensive list of books she’s written, and I’m really interested in her newest offerings:

The Harcourte Vampyre Society series

Dangerous Revelations (1) July 2014

Dangerous Choices (2) August 2014

This blog, however, has more to do with the genre she usually writes.  Here she explains about her particular writing style.

 

Topic: why do you write your characters as FBI agents? What made you spin off characters into their own series instead of having them stay in one series?

 

 

Often, I’m asked this exact question. So many people believe it would be easier to just write a romantic story without the chaos of the FBI interwoven into the plot. For me, it would be easier but not as much fun. There’s something enjoyable, fascinating, and adventurous about an FBI agent. While in reality, their jobs may not live up to the written hype, it gives me a chance to play with reality and create an interesting story.

When I was first out of college, I had wanted to be a police officer, but due to a medical condition, I was precluded. So, I began a journey where I could live through the excitement, but have none of the risk. I have nothing but the utmost respect for anyone who protects people. Whether police, FBI, or soldiers, they are our heroes and deserve to be put on a pedestal. When I write a book, I want the reader to think they’re amazing and have reverence for their sacrifices.

It’s my way of paying homage to them.

On the flip side, there’s something sensual about them too. Look at Ethan Blackhawk. He’s mysterious, powerful, and ridiculously sexy. Who doesn’t want to fall into that world and enjoy a break from reality? I know I often do. I like to pair them up with someone who may not be their natural opposite. Elizabeth is brash, tough and unrefined, but when she’s with Ethan, there’s more than kismet. There’s chemistry. When you picture Julian and Tori Littlemoon, you see two people who deeply love each other, despite the battles they had to emotionally overcome to find each other.

Callen is wounded but healing.

Christopher Leonard is nerdy and falls for a goddess.

There are so many possibilities because I’ve used the FBI as a background. It was the wisest choice I ever made when writing my books.

 

I also get the spinoff question a great deal. When writing the first book, The Killing Times, I fell in love with the characters and never wanted the story to end. That meant creating a really large world for them to ‘live’ in. Thus, FBI West was created. As each couple emerged in the storyline, the world around them developed and morphed into something more. With Julian and Tori, she couldn’t stay in the FBI and leave the man she loved behind, so she made the sacrifice. By opening a private investigations agency, I opened the storyline to more plausible plots. Now, they get to investigate the paranormal and spooky.

With my Sinner Trilogy, I also am taking that in a paranormal route, but having it tie back to the original series and FBI West. I can’t tell you how, since its all top secret, but Oracle is coming, and by next Christmas, you’ll understand how.

I love reading books that are connected, giving the reader a deeper look into the character’s lives. By the time you finish one of my books, I want you to feel like you know them personally.

That they’re you’re friends.

Long lost family.

I want you to build that connection and fall in love with them as they take their journey. That’s my main reason for spinning them off the first series. I want you to love my caveman, Greyson Croft. Fall for The Littlemoons and their spooky adventures. Watch Elizabeth, Ethan, and Callen’s lives unfold, as you get to be there to experience the ups and downs of their choices- whether you agree or disagree. With Callie and Quinn, you get to find the southern charm, and with Oracle, see her predicament. I want you to fall into the story and be a part of the experience.

If I can do that, then I’ve reached my pinnacle as a writer.

 

Book list

 

Other works by Morgan Kelley:

 

FBI stand alone Thrillers

The Junction

Serial Sins

The Blood Betrayal

FBI Romance Series

The Killing Times (Book 1)

Sacred Burial Grounds (Book 2)

True Love Lost (Book 3)

Deep Dark Mire (Book 4)

Fire Burns Hot (Book 5)

Darkness of Truth (Book 6)

Devil Hath Come (Book 7)

Consumed by Wrath (Book 8)

Redemption is Here (Book 9)

Croft & Croft Romance Adventure Series

Celestia is Falling (1)

Vegas is Dying (2)

Christmas is Killing (3)

Love is Bleeding (4)

Littlemoon Investigations

Blood Red Rage (Book 1)

Lost & Broken (Book 2)

The Carter Chronicles

Sinner Repent (1)

 

Coming soon:

The Harcourte Vampyre Society series

Dangerous Revelations (1) July 2014

Dangerous Choices (2) August 2014

 

Behind Closed Doors Anthology

Illegal Fantasies ~ Behind Closed Doors (1) August 2014

 

FBI Romance Series

Redemption is Here (book 10) Sept 2014

 

Morgan Kelley lives in the beautiful Pocono Mountains with her husband and two children. After attending college at Penn State University and studying Criminal Justice, Morgan knew her only true passion in life would be murder and books. She put them both together and began her career as a writer. Other than books and writing, you can find Morgan hanging out in her garden and digging in the dirt.

 

Her other works include: The Junction, Serial Sins, The Blood Betrayal, The Killing Times (1), Sacred Burial Grounds (2), True Love Lost (3), Deep Dark Mire (4), Fire Burns Hot (5), Darkness of Truth (6), Devil Hath Come (7), Consumed by Wrath (8), Blood Red Rage (1) Lost & Broken (2), Celestia is Falling (1), Vegas is Dying (2), Christmas is Killing (3), and Love is Bleeding (4)

Please feel free to visit Morgan at her website: http://www.morgankelley.com, email her author.m.kelley@gmail.com, or visit her blog at www.morgankelley.blogspot.com.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morgan Kelly Blog Tour

  1. Alphonse says:

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole
    community will be grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

